Campaigning gains momentum for 3rd phase of Lok Sabha polls

Campaigning is gaining momentum for the third phase of Lok Sabha elections.

Voting in this phase will be held in 116 constituencies, across 13 states and 2 Union Territories, on Tuesday.

These include, all 26 constituencies of Gujarat, 20 in Kerala; 14 each in Maharashtra and Karnataka; 10 in Uttar Pradesh; Seven in Chhattisgarh; Six in Odisha; five each in Bihar and West Bengal; four in Assam; Two in Goa, One each in Jammu and Kashmir, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and Tripura.

Election to Tripura (East) constituency was postponed to the third phase for security reasons. Major parties have stepped up campaigning in hills and plains for Tuesday’s polling on a deferred date.

Election Commission is taking elaborate initiatives including intensive security measures and deployment of central Armed Police Forces. The Commission has also issued a notice to BJP candidate Rebati Tripura for crossing the limit of election expenditure.

The Hindu

Leave a Comment