Centre constitutes chief ministers’ panel for agriculture reforms

Centre has constituted a high powered committee of Chief Ministers of several states for the transformation of Indian Agriculture.
Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis will be the convenor of the committee, while the chief ministers of Karnataka, Haryana, Arunachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh have been included as members.

Union Agriculture, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj Minister will also be a member of the committee. Besides, NITI Aayog member Ramesh Chand has been named the Member Secretary.

The Committee will discuss measures for the transformation of agriculture and raising farmers’ income. It will suggest the modalities for adoption and time-bound implementation of agriculture sector reforms.

The Committee has been asked to submit its report in two months. It has been tasked to suggest changes in the  Essential Commodity Act to attract private investments in agricultural marketing and infrastructure.

The Hindu

Leave a Comment