Filing of nominations for second phase of Lok Sabha elections ends today

Filing of nominations for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections comes to an end today. 97 constituencies spread over 13 States and Union Territories will go to polls in this phase on the 18th of April. All 39 Parliamentary constituencies of Tamil Nadu will go to polls in this phase. Other States and Union Territories where voting will take place in this phase are Karnataka 14 seats, Maharashtra 10 seats, Uttar Pradesh 8, Assam, Bihar and Odisha 5 seats each, Chhattisgarh and West Bengal  3 each, Jammu and Kashmir 2 , and Manipur, Tripura and Puducherry 1 seat each. 

In Assam, several senior leaders have filed their nomination papers for this phase. 5 seats -Karimganj, Silchar, Diphu, Mangaldoi and Nagaon will go to the polls. Deputy Speaker of the state assembly Kripanath Malla, sitting MLA Rupak Sarma and youth party Dilip Saikia are in the fray from the BJP. From the Congress, sitting MP Sushmita Dev, senior leader Bhubaneshwar Kalita , Biren Singh Engti and former minister Pradyut Bordoloi are contesting elections. Over 68 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their vote in this phase. 

In Tripura, candidates from different political parties have already filed their nominations for the East Tripura constituency, which will go to polls in the second phase. BJP candidate Rebati Kumar Tripura, IPFT candidate Narendra Chandra Debbarma and CPIM candidate Jitendra Choudhury are in the fray for this seat.

The scrutiny will take place tomorrow, while Friday is the last date for withdrawal of candidature for this phase.

The Hindu

Leave a Comment