Notification for 1st phase of LS polls today

The process of filing nominations for the first phase of Parliamentary elections will begin on Monday with the issuance of notification. 

The last date for filing candidature is the 25th of this month. Scrutiny will take place the next day, while 28th is the last date for withdrawal of nominations. Polling will be held on the 11th of next month.

Ninety-one constituencies spread over 20 states and union territories will go to polls in the first phase. Elections will be held for all 25 seats in Andhra Pradesh, and 17 in Telangana. 

Other constituencies going to polls in this phase are: eight in Uttar Pradesh; five in Uttarakhand; four in Bihar; seven in Maharashtra; five in Assam; four in Odisha; two each in Jammu and Kashmir, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya and West Bengal; and one each in Chhattisgarh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar and Lakshadweep.

In Uttar Pradesh, Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Bijnor, and Gautam Buddh Nagar will go to polls in this phase. 

Notification will also be issued today for Assembly elections for all the 175 Assembly constituencies of Andhra Pradesh, 28 of the total 147 constituencies in Odisha, all 32 Assembly seats in Sikkim and all 60 constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh.

The counting of votes will be taken up on 23rd May after the completion of all phases of polling.

The Hindu

Leave a Comment