Notification for 4th phase of Lok Sabha elections to be issued today

Notification for the fourth phase of Lok Sabha Elections will be issued today. Seventy-one constituencies spread over 9 states will go to polls in this phase on 29 of this month. The last date of filing of nominations is 9th April, scrutiny will be held the next day and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is 12th April. In Uttar Pradesh, nominations for the 13 seats going to polls in the fourth phase will start today. 

The seats of the fourth phase are spread over central and Bundelkhand region of the state. The nomination will start today for Shahjahanpur, Kheeri, Hardoi, Mishrikh, Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah, Kannauj, Kanpur, Akbarpur, Jalaun, Jhansi and Hamirpur seats. Many high profile leaders are expected to file their paper which includes Samajwadi Party nominee and Wife of Akhilesh Yadav who is the candidate from Kannauj, Senior BJP Leaders Ram Shankar Katheriya from Etawah, Satyadev Pachauri from Kanpur and Sakshi Maharaj from Unnao Seat. 

In Jharkhand, three Lok Sabha seats- Chatra, Palamu and Lohardagga will go to polls in this phase. Both the BJP and the Congress have not announced their candidates for Chatra while sitting BJP MP, V D Ram would be contesting from Palamu. Ghuran Ram from RJD and Sushma Mehta would be CPI-ML candidate from Palamu. From Lohardagga, sitting BJP MP and Minister of State, Sudarshan Bhagat is the party candidate. Congress has not declared its candidate from Lohardagga. 

In Madhya Pradesh, voting will be held for six seats of Sidhi, Shahdol, Mandla, Balaghat, and high profile Jabalpur and Chhindwada in this phase. A by-poll to Chhindwada assembly seat will also be held on 29th April. However, both Congress and BJP have not yet declared their candidates for these seats.

The Hindu

Leave a Comment