Notification issued for 2nd phase of Lok Sabha elections

Notification for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections was issued on Tuesday. 

Ninety-seven constituencies, spread over 13 States and Union Territories, will go to polls in this phase on the 18th of next month. 

Elections will be held in all the 39 constituencies of Tamil Nadu. Notification for bye-elections in 18 Assembly constituencies in the state has also been issued. 

The lone seat of Puducherry will also go to polls on the same day.

The other States and Union Territories where voting will take place in the second phase are 14 seats in Karnataka; 10 in Maharashtra; eight in Uttar Pradesh; five each in Assam, Bihar and Odisha; three each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal; two in Jammu and Kashmir; and one each in Manipur, Tripura and Puducherry.

Our Bihar correspondent reports that Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Bhagalpur and Banka are the constituencies that will go to polls in the second phase and elaborate arrangements have been made.

The Hindu

Leave a Comment