Opposition leaders to meet EC regarding tallying of VVPAT slips with EVM figures

Leaders of several opposition parties will meet Election Commission today in New Delhi and raise the issue of tallying VVPATs with EVM figures.

They are demanding tallying of VVPAT slips with EVM figures in an entire Assembly constituency in case discrepancy is found in any polling booth.

Leaders from Congress, TDP, Left Parties, BSP,  NCP, TMC, RJD and Aam Aadmi Party will be part of the delegation.

Meanwhile, ahead of their meeting with the Election Commission, opposition leaders are meeting to chalk about their strategy.

The meeting is being attended by Congress Leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ahmad Patel and Ashok Gahlot, TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu, Prof Ram Gopal Yadav of Samajwadi party, Derek O Brien of TMC, CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury, CPI general secretary S Sudhakar Reddy, NCP leader Praful Patel, RJD leader Manoj Jha, DMK leader Kanimozi, BSP Leader Satish Mishra , Aam Aadmi Party convener and Arvind Kejriwal and others.

The meeting comes two days ahead of the declaration of Lok Sabha polls results. 

The Hindu

Leave a Comment