Ram Vilas Paswan elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Bihar

NewsUnion Minister and Lok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan was today elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Bihar.

The leader has been elected to the Upper House in a by-poll necessitated by the resignation of his cabinet colleague Ravi Shankar Prasad, who won Lok Sabha from the Patna Sahib seat in the general elections.

Biju Janta Dal candidates Amar Patnaik and Sasmit Patra and BJP nominee Ashiwini Vaishnav supported by the regional party were elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Odisha today in the by-elections held for three vacant seats in the state.

The by-polls were conducted after BJD’s Achyuta Samanta, Pratap Keshari Deb and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik resigned from the Rajya Sabha following their election to the Lok Sabha and the state assembly.

The Election Commission had announced By-Polls to six seats of Rajya Sabha on 17th of this month. Elections to two seats of Rajya Sabha from Gujarat will be held on 5th of next month. 

BJP has fielded External Affairs Minister Dr S Jaishankar and Jugal Thakor while Congress candidates are Chandrika Chudasama and Gaurav Pandya. 

The Hindu

Leave a Comment