T20I Squad announced for upcoming New Zealand tour

Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami returned to the Indian T20I squad for the five-match series against New Zealand, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced last night. The selectors have excluded Sanju Samson from the 16-member squad with Rishabh Pant being the lone wicketkeeper. 

Virat Kohli will lead the Indian team in the 5 T20Is against the Black Caps. The tour will kick-off with the T20I series starting from January 24. India will also play 3 ODIs and 2 Tests against Kane Williamson’s team. Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah, who made a successful comeback to the team after a long injury lay-off in the two T20Is against Sri Lanka this week, has been retained his place in T20I side along with opener Shikhar Dhawan.

All-rounder Hardik Pandya, who was expected to make a comeback in the T20I side, has not been selected after he failed the mandatory fitness test in Mumbai yesterday. Tamil Nadu captain Vijay Shankar has been sent to New Zealand as a replacement for Pandya in the India A team. They will play two 50-over warm-up games, three List A games and two four-day ‘Tests’ against the New Zealand A team.

The Indian T20 team showed good form in the recently-concluded three-match series against Sri Lanka, winning it 2-0. Virat Kohli’s side will now host Australia for a series of 3 ODIs from January 14, before leaving for New Zealand.

Leave a Comment