Withdrawal of nominations for 2nd phase of LS polls ends today

Today is the last day for withdrawal of candidature for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections. Ninety seven constituencies, spread over 13 States and Union Territories, will go to polls in this phase on the 18th of next month. 

Elections will be held in all 39 Parliamentary constituencies in Tamil Nadu. Other constituencies where voting will take place in this phase are 14 in Karnataka; 10 in Maharashtra; eight in Uttar Pradesh; five each in Assam, Bihar and Odisha; three each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal; two in Jammu and Kashmir; and one each in Manipur, Tripura and Puducherry.

In Jammu and Kashmir, nomination papers of all the 14 candidates for the Udhampur-Doda Lok Sabha constituency were found valid after scrutiny on Wednesday.In Bihar, 19 nomination papers were rejected and Seventy papers were found correct. In Odisha, 37 nominations for five Lok Sabha constituencies and 261 nominations for Assembly seats under them were found valid. 

The Hindu

Leave a Comment